Review – Hotel Chocolat Easter Egg

When Hotel Chocolat were kind enough to offer me the chance to review one of the products from their Easter range, unsurprisingly I didn’t hesitate in saying yes!

The only problem was choosing which product; it actually took me several days to come to the decision but in the end both the pony and I were won over by the smiling faces of the chocolates inside the ‘You Crack Me Up’ Extra Thick Easter Egg.

Here’s what they have to say about it: “An irrepressibly upbeat egg cast in 40% milk chocolate and bursting with our cheeriest chocolates, from smiley face pralines and happy chicks to classic Easter bunnies – Includes 12 chocolate brownies, cookie pralines, chocolate fried eggs, solid chocolate bunnies and chicks cast in milk and caramel chocolate and more.”

It arrived in gorgeous hat box style packaging, which I somehow managed to refrain from opening for a full 5 days, until it was the weekend and I could take pictures in the sunshine.

Opening the box revealed two half shells of the egg wrapped in gold foil, with a tissue wrapped package of mini chocolates inside each half. Well done Hotel Chocolat for making it easy to share between two people – although the pony promptly gobbled his and is now begging me for some of mine every time I  have some…

The shell of the egg certainly does look a lot thicker than a normal egg, but it’s a bit deceiving as the edges are a lot thicker than the rest of the shell. It’s still a lot better than most eggs you would get though, and a really nice quality milk chocolate.

I actually preferred the treats that came inside the egg though if I’m honest – the crunchy praline and chocolate brownie smiley eggs in particular were delicious and I wish I had more!

The You Crack Me Up Extra Thick Egg retails for £26 – considerable more than I would normally pay for an Easter egg, but I think the size, quality, taste and packaging combined do make it worth it if you really want a treat.

You can buy this egg and lots of other easter goodies from www.hotelchocolat.co.uk – thanks very much for sending me one for free!

2 thoughts on “Review – Hotel Chocolat Easter Egg

  1. Pingback: Adventures with Praline, Bonbons & Raw Chocolate Truffles | Gold Within

Leave a comment