Homemade raspberry curd

There’s not really much to say about this raspberry curd, other than that it is so good and so addictive it’s taking all my willpower not to sit and eat the whole jar by the spoonful.

Lemon curd is one of my favourite things ever, but this might be even better. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, but it has the right balance of sweetness and zingyness, and just look at the colour – no photoshopping here, it really is this vivid a pink!

I made this to fill my competition coconut cupcakes (coming soon!), but I have quite a bit leftover so can’t wait to use it again – an suggestions what it might go well with?

Homemade raspberry curd (adapted from Waitrose)

  • 150g frozen raspberries, defrosted
  • 2 small eggs, beaten
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 75ml lemon juice
  • 50g butter
  • 100g sugar

Begin by blending the raspberries in a food processor until as liquid as you can get them. Add the raspberries to the beaten eggs and push the mixture through a sieve into a large mixing bowl – it takes a bit of effort but you should end up with a bowl of raspberry liquid and the seeds and any thick bits of egg to be thrown away.

 

Add the rest of the ingredients to a saucepan and gently heat, stirring until all the butter and sugar has dissolved then bring to the boil. Remove from the heat, then slowly add to the raspberry and egg mixture, whisking as you pour it in.

Return the mixture back to the saucepan, and bring back to the boil over a medium heat, stirring constantly.

Keep it simmering until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon, then remove from the heat and pour into a heatproof jar. Leave to cool, then eat with anything and everything you fancy!

14 thoughts on “Homemade raspberry curd

  1. Pingback: Coconut, blackberry and raspberry crown cupcakes | hungryhinny

  2. Pingback: Peach melba swiss roll | hungryhinny

  3. Fantastic colour Nat. Out of all the fruit curds I’ve made, passionfruit has been my favourite so far, but I can see this one might just pip it at the post – oh my I can almost taste it as I type.

    I use curds mixed in with the sponge before baking which works well, mixed with buttercream as an icing or filling and mixed with mascarpone as a filling for tarts or topping cakes.

    • I still have a tiny bit left so might try one of those ideas to use it up! I bet passionfriut curd is amazing – you must need quite a lot of passionfruits to make it though?!

  4. Pingback: Raspberry and white chocolate tarts | hungryhinny

  5. I’ve just been reading about Choclette’s raspberry and rose curd – so I had to come and worship at the source (sauce?!) of her inspiration. I have frozen raspberries upstairs, I am REALLY tempted to go upstairs and make it RIGHT now!

    • Haha! Thanks! If you have the ingredients to hand, DEFINTELY give it a go – although I warn you, every time you walk past the fridge you will have to stop for a sneaky spoonful…

  6. Pingback: Homemade blueberry curd | hungryhinny

  7. Hi I have The raspberry curd and it has come out darker 🙁..it is still cooling down…how do I achieve that beautiful colour and/or is there anyway I can make it lighter after I’ve made it?

Leave a comment