Coconut and lemon cream sandwich cake

With the gorgeous weather we’ve had this past week, baking with winter flavours has been out – bright, light, summery baking was needed to see in the spring.

This coconut and lemon cream sandwich cake fits the bill perfectly with two of my favourite fresh flavours combined in a simple but tasty cake.

The only downside of this cake was that I went a little over the top with the filling – after a 20 minute drive to work it had all spilled out the sides and needed quite a bit of a tidy before it was fit to be seen!

Another reason I loved this cake was that I got to use my new cake plate and dome that I was given for my birthday for the first time  – finally I can present my baking in something slightly nicer than a tupperware tub!

Coconut and lemon cream sandwich cake (my own recipe)

Cuts into 8 big slices

  • 225g butter
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 75g desiccated coconut
  • 225g self raising flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 3-4 tbsp lemon curd (I made mine following the Pink Whisk’s recipe)
  • 150ml double cream

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, followed by the lime zest and juice and coconut. Sift in the flour and baking powder and lightly fold into the mixture. Divide between two greased and lined 8″ round cake tins, and bake at 180 degrees for 25-30 minutes, or until risen and golden and a skewer comes out clean.

Leave the cake to cool, then spread the lemon curd on top of one half. Whip the cream until it holds its shape, then spread on top of the lemon curd. Top with the second sponge, then dust with icing sugar to serve.

7 thoughts on “Coconut and lemon cream sandwich cake

  1. That’s a very majestic looking cake. I wish I could bake cakes that look as grand as that. I love coconut cake. It takes me back to my student days when we used to buy an 89p coconut cake from Sainsbury’s for a treat (not that I am comparing your cake to a supermarket cake of course!) Maybe I shall have to give your recipe a whirl but for true nostalgic purposes, it would have to have a glace cherry in the centre a la Sainsburys!

    • Coconut cake is always a treat, no matter where it’s from! If you’d seen it when the cream was falling out and the top was sliding off you wouldn’t think it was grand, believe me…

  2. Pingback: Week In Review (4/16-4/20) « Beautiful Disasters

Leave a comment